Bookish News: November/December 2019 Sci-Fi Fantasy Book Releases to Get Excited About

 
 

Just to let you all know, this might be the last upcoming releases post for a while. I haven’t been able to use the computer much, so I haven’t been able to keep up with new releases. We’ll see what happens.

The good news though is that I still have a few books to mention that are going to release in the next two months! So let’s get to it!


Life and Limb by Jennifer Roberson // Nov 5

Life and Limb by Jennifer RobersonBlurb:

A biker and a cowboy must stop the apocalypse in the first book of the Blood and Bone modern western fantasy series.

His voice was rich, a much loved baritone, as he handed his seven-year-old grandson a gun.

“It’s time we had a talk, you and I. You won’t remember it, but you need to know it, and one day, when it’s time, I’ll call it up in you. You’ll know who you are, and what you’re intended to do. You’ll be a soldier, boy. Sealed to it. Life and limb, blood and bone. Not a soldier like others are, for it’s not the kind of war most people fight on earth. But because we’re not ‘most people,’ you and I, it will be far more important. The fate of the world will hinge upon it.”

Now no longer that wide-eyed child, Gabe is fresh out of prison, a leather-clad biker answering Grandaddy’s peremptory summons to, of all places, a cowboy bar in Northern Arizona. He is about to find out just how different he is from “most people”—and to meet the stranger with whom he will be sealed: life and limb, blood and bone, conscripted to fight an unholy war unlike any other.

For the greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.

When he does.

And Gabe, thrown into the unlikely company of a country-music-loving rodeo cowboy from West Texas, an ancient Celtic goddess of war, an African Orisha who sings volcanoes awake, a Chinese goddess of mercy, Nephilim, and Grigori, finds himself fighting a battle he was bred for, but wants no part of.

My Thoughts:

You had me at, “A biker and a cowboy must stop the apocalypse.”

Goodreads | Amazon | Publisher

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern // Nov 5

The Starless Sea by Erin MorgensternBlurb:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world–a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues–a bee, a key, and a sword–that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library, hidden far below the surface of the earth.

What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians–it is a place of lost cities and seas, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also those who are intent on its destruction.

Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome, barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly-soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose–in both the mysterious book and in his own life.

My Thoughts:

I have to admit, I still haven’t read The Night Circus, but this one sounds really magical and unique!

Goodreads | Amazon | Publisher

Sabbath by Nick Mamatas // Nov 19

Sabbath by Nick MamatasBlurb:

Highlander meets Seven in Nick Mamatas’s Sabbath.

The infamous eleventh-century warrior Hexen Sabbath is plucked from death and certain damnation by a being claiming to be an angel of the Lord, and finds himself dropped into contemporary Manhattan with no clothes, no weapons, no resources, and one mission—to track down and kill the living personifications of the Seven Deadly Sins before they bring about Armageddon.

With time running out and his only ally a destitute art gallery owner, Sabbath must fight his way through New York’s elite and challenge the world’s most powerful man, or an eternity of suffering will be his, and our, only reward.

My Thoughts:

Anything involving the Seven Deadly Sins always sounds intriguing!

Goodreads | Amazon | Publisher

Blood Heir by Amelie Wen Zhao // Nov 19

Blood Heir by Amelie Wen ZhaoBlurb:

This hot debut, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father’s murder.

In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled. Their varied gifts to control the world around them are unnatural—dangerous. And Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess, has a terrifying secret. Her deadly Affinity to blood is her curse and the reason she has lived her life hidden behind palace walls.

When Ana’s father, the emperor, is murdered, her world is shattered. Framed as his killer, Ana must flee the palace to save her life. And to clear her name, she must find her father’s murderer on her own. But the Cyrilia beyond the palace walls is far different from the one she thought she knew. Corruption rules the land, and a greater conspiracy is at work—one that threatens the very balance of her world. And there is only one person corrupt enough to help Ana get to its core: Ramson Quicktongue.

A cunning crime lord of the Cyrilian underworld, Ramson has sinister plans—though he might have met his match in Ana. Because in this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of all.

My Thoughts:

I had been looking forward to this one when it was first set to come out, so I’m happy to see it’s finally going to be published! It sounds super interesting and is, I believe, kind of an Anastasia retelling.

Goodreads | Amazon | Publisher

The Hanged Man by K. D. Edwards // Dec 17

The Hanged Man by K. D. EdwardsBlurb:

The last member of a murdered House tries to protect his ward from forced marriage to a monster while uncovering clues to his own past.

The Tarot Sequence imagines a modern-day Atlantis off the coast of Massachusetts, governed by powerful Courts based on the traditional Tarot deck.

Rune Saint John, last child of the fallen Sun Throne, is backed into a fight of high court magic and political appetites in a desperate bid to protect his ward, Max, from a forced marital alliance with the Hanged Man.

Rune’s resistance will take him to the island’s dankest corners, including a red light district made of moored ghost ships; a surreal skyscraper farm; and the floor of the ruling Convocation, where a gathering of Arcana will change Rune’s life forever.

My Thoughts:

I loved the first book in this series—it had great characters and such a unique setting—and have been very much looking forward to this one!

Goodreads | Amazon | Publisher

 
 
 

Talk to me!

What November/December 2019 books are you looking forward to?

 

Follow me for more!

Twitter   |   Bloglovin   |   Feedly   |   WordPress   |   Goodreads   |   Pinterest   |   Tumblr

 
 
 
 
 
 

Your Thoughts

 

29 thoughts on “Bookish News: November/December 2019 Sci-Fi Fantasy Book Releases to Get Excited About

I'd love if you'd share your thoughts, too!

 

Reading your comments makes me a very happy blogger!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

 
  1. Becky @ A Fool's Ingenuity

    You haven’t read The Night Circus? That’s all I’m taking from this post. I read it ages ago, before I began blogging I think, and I adored it. It was magical and I feel like it would be a you kind of book but without rereading I can’t say for certain. I’m excited for The Starless Sea just because it’s been so long since her last book I’m interested to see what other stories she has to tell.

    1. Kristen Burns

      Hahaha you might have shamed me into making it my next audiobook since my library has it LOL. I do think I would like it though, if for no other reason than I love circuses.

  2. Sophie

    I am looking forward to: Queen of Nothing, Starsight by Brandon sanderson, The Guinevere Deception by Kiersten White and Call Down the hawk by Maggie <Stiefvater!

  3. Suz

    Sorry to hear you’re still suffering with headaches.
    I had The Night Circus on my tbr list but never got round to it. Now I guess I’ve got the Starless Sea to add as well!
    Hope you’re feeling better soon. Hugs

  4. KB

    I really want to read The Starless Sea!! Blood Heir was an anticipated read too, I got it via netgalley and it did not disappoint!! I hope you enjoy them when you get to read them! Wonderful list.

  5. Olivia Roach

    I have to admit that the title and synopsis of Life and Limb immediately caught my eye! I have seen some people anticipating Blood Heir but like always with hyped books, I am waiting on reviews to come in before I decide if it is for me or not. I am looking forward to seeing more about these ones :)