Book Review: Three Days Till Dawn (Antiquity’s Gate Book 1) by R.F. Hurteau

 
 
Long after an apocalyptic event, the last remaining humans on Earth are living in a domed society in Antarctica with the elves who stayed behind to help them. When best friends Felix and Ripley learn that Felix's wife is having twins but will have to have one removed because of the one child policy, they have to find a way out or a place to hide before that happens.

Book Review: Three Days Till Dawn (Antiquity's Gate Book 1) by R.F. Hurteau | reading, books, book reviews, science fiction, dystopian
Title: Three Days Till Dawn
Author:
Book Number: Book 1
Pages: 320
My Rating:
More Info: Goodreads, Amazon
 

Review:

*I received an ecopy of this book via NetGalley. This has not influenced my review.*

This was a good book with a cool premise about humans and elves living in domes with a dystopian society post-apocalypse.

I think the reason it didn’t fully click with me though was because the book was more focused on plot than characters. It was the characters’ motivation that moved the plot forward, but there were a lot of POVs with related but different things going on so that the reader could get a full understanding of life in the domes, the problems, the history, the secrets, the brewing rebellion, etc. There’s nothing wrong with that, it just didn’t allow for getting to know the individual characters super well. So whether or not that would be an issue depends on your taste. And it is a series, so you might get to know the characters better as it goes on.

One thing I appreciated was that the author didn’t leave the reader hanging with a bunch of mysteries and no answers the way authors often do in the first book of a series.

I also liked the friendship between Ripley and Felix. It’s nice to see strong friendships in books.

Overall, the focus on plot over characters made this book not quite for me, but I did enjoy the story, converging storylines can be fun, and the author clearly has some plans for where this series is headed, what with the way things ended. I think plenty of people will enjoy this.

 
 
Book Blurb

For fans of The City of Ember, The Lunar Chronicles, and The Hunger Games, an epic sci-fi adventure awaits!

Antiquity’s Gate forced two realities to collide—what followed tore one of them apart.

Now those who remain coexist beneath the shelter of a domed Antarctic city, held together by a tenuous peace and an increasingly dystopian hierarchy. Any hope of one day leaving the confines of Sanctuary is little more than a fading ember.

A mid-level systems operator, Ripley does his best to stay out of trouble. His best friend Felix, an irreverent half-breed shunned by society, can’t seem to do the same. When Felix’s family is targeted by an unjust law, there’s nowhere to run. The city of Sanctuary had once been a safe haven—now it has become a cage.

Ripley’s desperate attempt to help his friends escape tragedy uncovers a conspiracy that envelops the last refuge of mankind in an ever-tightening net.

The people of Sanctuary have never seen a sunrise.

If Ripley and Felix aren’t prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice, none of them ever will.

The first book in the sweeping Antiquity’s Gate series, Three Days Till Dawn explores the depths of friendship and betrayal in a city teetering on the edge of two worlds. With delicately interwoven threads, this slow burning mystery explores a post-apocalyptic future through the eyes of many—none of whom have all the answers.

Basic Info

Book Author:
Publisher:
Series:
Genre: , ,
My Rating:
Series/Standalone:

More Info (Possible Spoilers)

Non-Human Type:
Relationships/Sex: ,
Extra Love:

 
 
 

Talk to me!

Have you read Three Days Till Dawn by R.F. Hurteau?
Do you like sci-fi books that include supernatural beings?

 

Follow me for more!

Twitter   |   Bloglovin   |   Feedly   |   WordPress   |   Goodreads   |   Pinterest   |   Tumblr

 
 
 
 
 
 

Your Thoughts

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Three Days Till Dawn (Antiquity’s Gate Book 1) by R.F. Hurteau

I'd love if you'd share your thoughts, too!

 

Reading your comments makes me a very happy blogger!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

 
  1. Olivia Roach

    I recently read The Poppy War by RF Kuang and it surprised me because it was very much a plot driven book and I am such a character driven reader. But I feel like conventionally books are character driven these days, so I was surprised it was otherwise. For that reason, I don’t think this is going to be one for me for that reason but I am glad you could enjoy other elements of it !

    1. Kristen Burns

      Yeah, it’s hard when you’re a character-driven reader and you come across a plot-driven book, because it’s not necessarily a bad book, just not one for us.

  2. Becky @ A Fool's Ingenuity

    This does sound like a really cool book and I’m sorry to see that it didn’t quite click as it was more plot-driven than character-driven. With the two characters trying to find a way to save the one guys kids you’d kind of think it would be a little more character-driven. I get the scene need to be set and the world developed so you’d have an understanding of this world and the issues I’m just sorry that meant it lost a little something along the way.